Sponsored Links
News & Updates

List of Universities in Nigeria and Their Catchment Areas and ELDS

When it comes to securing admission into federal universities in Nigeria, understanding catchment areas can significantly boost your chances. Catchment areas are specific geographical regions that these institutions prioritize when admitting students. While admission is open to students from all over Nigeria, those residing within the catchment areas often receive special consideration. In this blog post, we’ll provide you with a comprehensive list of federal universities and their respective catchment areas.

Federal Universities with Catchment Areas:

  1. ABU (Ahmadu Bello University): Northern region, with a focus on states like Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, etc.
  2. ATBU (Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University): Northeastern region, emphasizing states like Bauchi, Gombe, Taraba, etc.
  3. BUK (Bayero University Kano): Primarily serves the northern region, including states like Kano, Jigawa, and Katsina.
  4. FUTA (Federal University of Technology Akure): Southwest region, giving preference to states like Ondo, Ekiti, and Osun.
  5. FUTMINNA (Federal University of Technology Minna): Northern region, with a focus on states like Niger, Kwara, and Kogi.
  6. FUTO (Federal University of Technology Owerri): Southeastern region, emphasizing states like Imo, Abia, and Ebonyi.
  7. FUOYE (Federal University Oye-Ekiti): Southwest region, giving consideration to states like Ekiti, Ondo, and Osun.
  8. OAU (Obafemi Awolowo University): Southwest region, prioritizing states like Osun, Oyo, and Ekiti.
  9. UDUSOK (Usmanu Danfodiyo University Sokoto): Northwestern region, with a focus on states like Sokoto, Kebbi, and Zamfara.
  10. UI (University of Ibadan): Southwest region, emphasizing states like Oyo, Ogun, and Osun.
  11. UNIABUJA (University of Abuja): Primarily serves the Federal Capital Territory and its environs.
  12. UNIBEN (University of Benin): South-south region, giving preference to states like Edo, Delta, and Bayelsa.
  13. UNICAL (University of Calabar): South-south region, with a focus on states like Cross River, Akwa Ibom, and Bayelsa.
  14. UNIJOS (University of Jos): Northern region, emphasizing states like Plateau, Bauchi, and Nasarawa.
  15. UNILAG (University of Lagos): Southwest region, prioritizing states like Lagos, Ogun, and Ondo.
  16. UNILORIN (University of Ilorin): North-central region, giving consideration to states like Kwara, Kogi, and Niger.
  17. UNIMAID (University of Maiduguri): Northeastern region, with a focus on states like Borno, Yobe, and Adamawa.
  18. UNIPORT (University of Port Harcourt): No specific catchment area.
  19. UNIUYO (University of Uyo): South-south region, emphasizing states like Akwa Ibom, Cross River, and Bayelsa.
  20. UNIZIK (Nnamdi Azikiwe University): Southeastern region, prioritizing states like Anambra, Enugu, and Ebonyi.
  21. UNN (University of Nigeria Nsukka): Southeastern region, giving preference to states like Enugu, Anambra, and Ebonyi.

Federal Universities Without Catchment Areas:

  1. UNIPORT (University of Port Harcourt)
  2. FUNAAB (Federal University of Agriculture Abeokuta)
  3. FUPRE (Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun)
  4. MOUAU (Michael Okpara University of Agriculture Umudike)
  5. FUAM (Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi)


Understanding the catchment areas of federal universities in Nigeria can play a crucial role in your admission strategy. While these institutions may admit students from all regions, having knowledge of the preferred catchment areas can give you a competitive edge. Be sure to consider this information when selecting your preferred university and maximize your chances of a successful admission.

Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button